Ek pyali chai ki…aur mein aur woh….( A cup of tea…..me and…..)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Early mornings have always been the best time of the day for me. I like waking up early, going out for a run, doing some exercises and then settling down with my cup of chai with 2 Marie biscuits. This has been my routine since I became old enough to make my own tea.

This time of the day, I don’t like talking to anyone; doing other than things that relate to me and basically this is the time I like being with myself.

Till 4 yrs back when all hell broke loose…..

After my numerous attempts to conceive and failing at it….my husband and I were wondering if we should adopt a child. We always wanted to do that but were not sure of the sequence (Natural and then adopted or vice versa). Then the big recession happened and we put our plans on hold. We were not ready to take the responsibility of another little life when we ourselves were not secured about our jobs.

Life continued and so did my morning Chai…..We were in Bangalore and I always used to see the little puppies playing in our apartment complex and used to chuckle at the harassed owner trying to control his Labrador or Pomeranian or a Garden Retriever . I come from a family where we always had animals as pets…mostly dogs but then we had squirrels, cats, some lone crow who’d like to eat only from my grandma and a baby monkey who mistook her for his mother and refused to leave her (we had to find his mother before he let go of my grandma). But dogs they were always there.

My husband used to watch this scene and constantly asked me to get one for us. I was completely against getting a dog with just both of us in the family. Primarily it’s a HUGE responsibility and also the fact they don’t live as long as us and I wasn’t ready for heartbreak. But then as they say, love finds a way into your heart and home. It did and how. One fine Saturday morning a 2 month old Labrador retriever came into our lives. Life hasn’t been the same anymore and so is the morning chai! This piece of work is
also known as R.O.M.E.O……

Now I get woken by a wet nose, tongue and a rude bark (if I don’t get up within 10 minutes of the earlier two techniques). Without wasting any time I have to ensure that Im out of the house for a run.

Morning chai is no longer the peaceful solitude that I used to enjoy so much.

It’s around, how many biscuits are there on the plate and how many can Romeo have.

It’s around making sure he is quiet while the kids are going to school or any other dog who decides to take a leisurely walk a little later.

The chai and the newspaper and my solitude is a thing of past. I used to pride myself on reading the newspaper and being up-to-date on current affairs…now even the yesterday’s news is far from me. You see the newspaper gets filled with Romeos slob while he awaits his biscuits!

Good bye solitude welcome chaos!

But am I complaining…ofcourse not.

I’d not exchange a single day that I have with this bundle of joy with anything else. Yes I no longer enjoy the morning solitude but then I have someone who loves me without any condition. Someone who waits for me when I come back tired (sometimes frustrated from work). Someone who demands nothing but me and my love to make him happy.

The chai continues with a warm fuzzy feeling of Romeo next to me….Thank you Romeo for everything that you have given me. My life isn’t the same with you but then my life wouldn’t be what it is without you.

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

