The Argumentative Indian!


Phew! I posted a simple comment with a different pt of view on my FB and went off to sleep. Next morning I see 2 of my good friends commenting on it and then from a simple comment, it blew to more thn 80 comments filled with insanity.

Why because we are Argumentative Indians as Amartya Sen rightly said! We have to have a point of view or an opinion and if I dont agree with yours then all hell breaks lose…khuda khair karey!

From simple disagreement, it went personal, below the belt and then regional! It actually turned stupid from sublime! Name calling, hitting on peoples choices and privacy and then the best (or should I say worst) was saved for the last where people went on defining characters based on region…I was speechless all this while this happened. While due to my silly act of tagging a friend who gracefully refused to comment, she got bombarded with mails in her inbox.

Two lessons learnt: 1) Dont Tag people, cause you never know when people will stop reasoning and become indifferent. 2) Never get personal when debating. It hurts without saying anything and all the rhetoric comes out in the open and the shallowness of it all.

There were two opportunities also: 1) FB should have an option of closing a conversation or ignore it 2) We should be able to un-tag friends from a comment post facto.

Now coming back to the argument. I dared to differ from Annas methodology and would rather support the cause of fighting the corruption than the Government. That was my fault it seems! I cannot differ. I was castrated, name called and basically ridiculed for being an armchair politician, unaffected NRI, intellectual and so on. Then I have an even bigger handicap I’m a Bengali :)) That disqualifies me and my opinion (or arguement).

So I tried to tell, we can agree to disagree and let the case rest. But even then there was no respite! At every chance ridiculing seem to be the way forward if anyone dared to disagree with their point of view.

So now, with all that mudslinging behind me, with a complete stranger getting her mailbox bombarded and another stranger getting ridiculed for being private and I being ostracised…I decided to just shut it up. But the most beautiful thing that came out of this, with couple of naysayers, i also had supporters who were there to defend and speak for me while i was unaware…that kinda felt nice ( he he).

Thank God for Zeb and Haniya and their beautiful songs….just calms nerves and makes you believe that world is a better place with music. You guys should listen to it as well.

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

