English Babu Desi Mem!


Literally translated it means an English Gentleman and a Village Belle!

So my Romeo who is with us since he was 2 months grew up in a caaltured Bengali family with smattering of Marathi Brahmin upbringing. He is more human than any human I’ve come across. He understands words, actions, eyes, emotions and basically P and I don’t have to utter anything before he gets it.

Leaia is adopted only now and she is already 1-year-old. so her manners and natures are wild! She does everything that Romeo abhors peeing in the house, chew things around and eat like there’s no tomorrow. With all these wild manners she has managed to ram her way into our hearts. She knows when I’m upset or if I’m watching a movie and crying she comes and licks me.

May be that’s her attraction? Romeo has fallen for her hook, line and sinker! He was a wild boy and now he is like this nice responsible boy who wants to ensure that his girls are OK (I’m also one of his girls, remember :)); he waits patiently while Leaia does her job, he is ready to pounce on any one who even remotely tries to come near Leaia….

Leaia follows Romeo to the T. They have a rule to wash their feet after they come back from their walks. Leaia refused to do that…all Romeo had to do was give her the lead and sit down and voila she followed him…so the whole episode bemused me. This boy who didn’t have a care in this world suddenly became responsible and is now leading the way…

The gentleman that he is, he tries his best to make sure that his girl is walking right, not getting distracted by other dogs/men around and overall manages the equation.

P came back after a week and took them out for a walk today. His comments after he returned kinda sums it all up: After marriage even a dog learns how to heel!

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

