A decision that needs to be taken but we do have a choice…still!


So Leaia is now more than 2 weeks in her new (and permanent home) and she has completely made us her own! But…..

She needs to get spayed…neutered….:( The Doctor advised us to spay her to avoid any complications later on like cancer etc.

I was in a moral dilemma whether to go ahead or not. Then we met someone who had not and realised it was too late since the girl developed tumours (despite couple of litters etc). He strongly advised us to go ahead with the same if we didn’t intend to breed….

Breeding has never been on our mind. One of my previous girls (Lucy, a beautiful Spitz/Pom mix) had delivered once 4 lovely puppies…I was involved with the delivery with my uncle (who was a GP) and knew the work involved. Also, we knew that we wont be able to manage the same.

Then after lot of humming and hawing and postponing the decision, we got Leaia spayed yesterday. My little chirpy girl is finally out of the OT. But she is completely in a state of shock.

She lived the 1st one year of her life in a cage. When she got into our lives, she couldn’t even do the steps. It took a Romeo to lead her and show that its safe in here with us and we wouldn’t hurt her. Now, that she is back in confinement with the vet, her fear has returned with vengeance. The only thing that worries me is that she should not change and get her mojo back!

When Romeo is happy, he wags his Tail. When Leaia is happy, she wags her whole body with the tail! I don’t want that to change.

When Romeo is happy, he jumps. When Leaia is happy, she flies. I don’t want that to change.

When Romeo is happy, he barks. When Leaia is happy, she croons. I don’t want that to change.

I don’t want to change a thing about her and who she is. I hope for that….I made a choice and I hope I’m right…..

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

