‘E’nlightened!


Leaia has been diagnosed with a bacterial infection known as Ehrlichia Canis aka E Canis. It gets transmitted thru the saliva of the brown tick residing in tropical fever….

After blaming myself for all the possible causes…we figured out the causes. She stayed in the vet’s hospital for 5 days post her surgery (spaying)…during this phase she was weak and susceptible to infection…it takes possibly 2-3 weeks for the infection to manifest and it did!

Initially we thought, she caught Romeos’ cough…but then she never coughed so much. All she did was not eat, be lethargy, refused to stay awake and there was constant discharge from her eyes…we wondered for some days and then took her to the doc. The Docs thought its fever and gave her the medicine accordingly…but then Monday morning she started bobbing her head…and we panicked!

Immediate doc visit ensured she was given the necessary fluids…..blood tests revealed and confirmed E Canis today.

Now the next step is to get her out on her own from the hospital ASAP. Her mom and dad will give all they have to get her back on her feet…Operation get Leaia home starts from tomorrow…wish us luck!

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

