The case of missing chapatis…..


I’ve always wanted to write about a mystery crime thriller kinda piece….what better than something that happened in our own lives!

P is a big chapatis’ fan and I’m more of a rice fan. You can’t get rice out of a Bengali, can you? P of course loves his chapatis or podi or roti or phulka whatever you wanna call it.

In Bangalore, the routine was that the maid would make tea with some chapatis in the morning. P would enjoy them at his own pace.

Romeo also loves chapatis and really enjoys his food with chapatis. He can eat them on their own just like treats!

The routine or the ritual of chapatis continued and then suddenly one day I come back and realised that the chapatis started missing.

I’d ask the maid to make certain number and then started keeping track of how many is P consuming and obviously Romeo can’t track so I kept track for him. Then again in the nite the same would be missing.

I started doubting if the maid was taking them home. I didn’t mind but then I gotta know about it…Finally, I asked the maid where are the chapatis going? She said she has no idea and she keeps them in the container and goes home. The mystery continued and we had no idea where were the chapatis going….

The Sherlock Holmes in me couldn’t go any further and said Dr. Watson lets move on!

few months went by, it was time for us to move to Malaysia and the movers and packers came in. The last room to get cleaned up was the store-room. I realise there some stale chapatis all stored nicely in one corner….!!!

We are wondering (P, I and the maid) where did these come from? Then a light bulb struck…so these could be the missing chapatis, or could it be really? They wont walk on their own someone ought to have hidden them here in the dark corners of the store-room. The maid suggested it could be a ghost! I’m a non-believer and trashed the idea but she was desperate to call some priest and get the house blessed…or the ghost who is hungry will eat us all up….!

Three of us decided to watch the next day as to how are the chapatis going there? As the daily routine goes, we went about. But all of us kept an eye.

In the evening, when the maid goes back, P and I were having tea. Romeo decides to venture in the kitchen. Opens the container and takes two chapatis in his mouth and goes into the store-room. Eats one and hides the other in the same corner where the others are kept!

We couldn’t believe our eyes for what we just saw! P and I were completely perplexed as to why was Romeo stealing the chapatis and then hiding them! He gets more than enough food, he is pampered, all he has to do is just nudge us and he gets biscuits (or Biki as he calls them!)…then why was my baby stealing and hiding!

We started reading about Labrador and dogs and realised he wasnt alone and we were not the only parents to face this dilemma! The vet confirmed to us finally that Dogs in general and specially Labs have a tendency to dig the ground and hide their kill/food there. This is to save for a rainy day. They hide their food underground and bring their friends along later to enjoy the rest.

So I asked him like a worried mother, but Romeo gets his food and everything, then why is he stealing still? The Doc said “Well, he is a dog…the store is his hiding place…he cant bring you along to enjoy the feast as he knows you’ll spoil the party!” He couldn’t dig so smartly he chose the store (he knew a place we hardly visited)…

This is how the case of Missing Chapatis was solved…when we moved to KL we ensured that there was no store-room and the chapatis are kept in a container he hasn’t figured out yet how to open….sigh!

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

