When in doubt…take a chance or play safe?


I’m a wanderer at heart (or thats what I’d like to believe). Status quo doesnt excite me…change inspires me.

To give you an example, Ive not stayed in a house more than 2 yrs…so Im beginning to think now what has changed in me? Im working in one of the best companies in the world (by the latest report it is THE BEST company to work for), I have one of the coolest jobs in the world, Im with some fantastic colleagues…Ive got a great personal life…a husband who has a head on his shoulder, loving and caring, two beautiful furkids…may be I miss having kids but then Im not really complaining.

Whats it thats making me unhappy? Why am I so restless? What am I looking out for?

I dont have an answer or may be Im not looking for an answer….

Am I an unhappy person and not appreciating the good things in my life? Or is it that Im missing in life and I dont know yet what it is….?

Am i playing safe for the fear of unknown? Or should I take a chance and explore?

When will it end? Will it end?

When i will I stop looking? Or should I stop looking for?

Do I know what Im looking for? Or is it the unknown thats exciting?

Do I have the answers? Or do we need answers at all?

Que sera sera………….!

 

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life, Reality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When in doubt…take a chance or play safe?

  1. Ahana Mukherjee says:

    You mentioned at the very offset that status quo does not excite you but after reading the paragraph I see that there practically has been no change…..have you really taken the risk that you so crave for rather can you really take that risk? You seem to be a person who loves the idea of taking a chance changing certain things yet you are inherently quite happy with how things are. The dilemma in your mind is the sole cause of your unhappiness. Face up to the reality and change what bothers you the most!!

    • amieatms says:

      Yes and no Ahani! I dont just like the idea of change…I want it. But yes where Im unable to take the step is the fear of unknown…The fact theres no change last few years could be the problem?

      I have taken few risks and whenever have taken them, I’ve enjoyed it. As for me being happy with status quo…well you have to know me well…its clear you dont know me well enough :-))

      Dilemma is the fact that Im not able to gather the courage to leave a cushy life and venture into something completely different and see where it takes…may be thats why Im unhappy…for being a coward!

  2. Someone once said to me that I am a person who seeks unhappiness in life, to feel complete and enriched by the experience. I don’t know whether it is true or not, maybe you do. I guess for creative and restless minds like ours, the whole idea of status quo is so deeply disturbing. In my story, I have been trying to fight this since forever, but then I have realized that neither do I have the courage to change what I have, it does seem to be better than a lot of people, nor do I have the will power to stick to those changes, even when I get down to doing them. So till the time I find my peace with my inner self, I can only pray that atleast you find what you have been craving for.

    • amieatms says:

      Joules…its clear you know me well. We are in a way peas in a pod and it takes one to understand the other! Well someone very close said the same to me…I’m an unhappy person and nothing seems to make me happy :))

      Well I dont know if thats true….what scares me most is status quo. Im trying to fight it and trying to make peace with the circumstances and there are times I accept it also but then at times it just raises its head and Im back to being restless…so you know what I mean!

      I dont know if Ill ever gather the courage….I never had a security blanket and nor do I have one now…so I wonder why i look for security at all…..more later in person soon :)

Leave a Reply

