India…….my soul…….!


Officially I’m an NRI- A Non Resident Indian.

Yet I’m as much an Indian as I was before. I want to comment on politics, I want to watch those corny Hindi movies, cricket is still a good past time and yes reading the Indian newspapers and news channels 3 times  day makes my day fruitful…

Still I’ve become so much of an outside. If I today given a chance will I ever go back to India soon…I don’t know now. When I read the news papers, I read about rapes, theft, infrastructure chaos, corrupt politicians, and our not so good law enforcement agencies. Then I shudder and think do I want to bring up my child in such an atmosphere.

Then there is the ugly quota and competition. St. Stephens college wants now reservations for Boy! They are not happy that girls are a majority there…and they want to change that…I mean….duh!

So do I really want to go back and get into that struggle again?

Then there’s this part of me that is very patriotic still. I will not hear a word against my country despite its limitations…in true sense my country is a true democracy (we will debate about whether its good or bad some other day), we are free to express our opinions (almost, barring a few Salman Rushdie episodes), our  media isn’t controlled by the Govt (sometimes they go overboard; the way they reported the Taj massacre).

How many of us who are living in insulated worlds of our own will identify with this dilemma? We live in countries where we don’t want to or don’t have a say in the way the country is run, nor do we have any role to play in its future what we do enjoy is the infrastructure, the ease, the comfort and yet we try to be armchair politicians by commenting on their functioning (somewhere it feeds our Indian love Cricket, Politics and Cinema).

Yet there’s something missing, despite the comforts of the world. May be the belonging, may be the chaos, or may be simply the earthiness of it all….

I don’t know yet but more than that I do know that sometime sooner or later we will go back to our roots…its just a Q of when?

 

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Life, Reality, Soul and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to India…….my soul…….!

  1. kennedyGoh says:

    5 Stars! Jai-Ho!

Leave a Reply

