Who will give Forgiveness to the murderers…?


It’s ironic that the lady who died in the Indigo car crash in Gurgaon was known as Kshama. Kshama in Sanskrit/hindi means forgiveness….isn’t it ironic?

The rich brat who was driving the BMW gets forgiveness (read bail) and is out in less than 24 hrs! His driver came forward to confess to the crime he supposedly committed. Ya right!

When once hears of such accident, you hear of cars like BMW and the likes. Only cases that involve such big names get highlighted….no one talks about other rash drivers.

Let me share with you guys, something that happened in front of me and I was very much part of it.

It was the year 2006 and the date was 26th January. We had taken over the possession of our new house and I was doing the preparation for the house-warming (Grah Pravesh). As I was coming back from my shopping and passing thru Alaknanda (one of the upper middle class suburbs of South Delhi), my driver said Ma’am watch your back!

I turn around and see a body rolling in the rear wheels of a car, I shrieked because I freaked….and I ducked…then the black Maruti Swift just zoomed past my car, crashing other smaller vehicles on the way (BTW I incidentally owned an Indigo during that time). One lone police guy tried to stop the car, no one dared to come in his way as he was going nuts….but it was still not dark and we could clearly see the car registration number.

So the incident happened in front of me. I was completely shaken, went home narrated the incidence to my husband and grandpa…they sympathized and we went back to our normal lives.

Next day after the usual puja and all, I was sharing this incident with the guests, when one of them said, yes I did read about it in the paper…they are not able to trace the car that killed people!

Now that took me by surprise….I didn’t realize that people died and more than that, the sky was still lit and if I could note and memorize the number sitting inside my car, people outside (including the policemen) how could they not see it?

Anyways, I read the paper clipping and it said whoever knows the details please call CR Park Police Station.

It was a Sunday and against my grand fathers wishes (my husband was out-of-town you see so he didn’t have much say and knowing him, he would have never asked me to not do it), I called the Police Station number.

The guy who picked up the phone, said very nonchalantly that ya you can give your phone number and if we need your help we’ll call you. I said but your ad said you need someone to give the details, I’m giving the detail, why don’t you take it…he didn’t bother.

Then I check with a journo friend (PKR you’re the best :)) this is what happened, if I have the car number do I get to know who owns it? He then gave me the site etc, which didn’t help me much though….

Then I get call from him and he says, the lady who died was related to a friend of his….they are looking for someone who could help with the witness. He asked me if I could help, ofcourse I would, I said.

Then comes one of the most wonderful person I met, Shalini Singh…she said her Aunt died in that accident and her uncle got hurt very badly. So I tried to do my best.

Then started the rounds and the calls of the police to no avail. They kept on asking me the number again and again and my answer would remain the same…..then nothing came out of it and finally it was March 2008. I had to move cities and move from Delhi to Bangalore. The family asked me if I could still continue to help? I tried but I knew it was a lost cause…from Bangalore to Delhi doing the to and fro was going to be difficult for me…

So finally I believe the family gave up in the end despite all the good intentions. Im sure nothing happened to the brat (who later on I heard was the son of a builder as well)…so a life was lost and a family was broken!

So when I read these cases including the famous Sanjeev Nanda BMW case, I sigh…its sigh of irony and skepticism and not a sigh of sadness. You cant bring back the life that’s gone.

6 yrs back, there was no FB or social engine that one could have promoted the cause or awareness….From my personal experience, I find that the way our police, law enforcement agencies and the powers to be handle these cases, if you are an ordinary person with no high profile friends, it doesn’t take long to get demoralized, let it go and in the end give it up.

All it leaves behind is bitterness, sadness and an empty feeling of helplessness……

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Life, Reality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who will give Forgiveness to the murderers…?

  1. Love your blog, in fact arrived by checking yahoo and google for a comparable issue to this post. Which means this might be a late post nevertheless keep up the great work.
    http://www.KneeNeckBackPain.com/

Leave a Reply

