Telephone Diaries…..!


Remember the good old days when you had a phone (I loved the ones where to dial a number we had to spin a wheel and it created a whirling motion!) and next to it was a mandatory phone diary, a pen and in some cases a stand where you could keep your receiver and the person on the other side could hear some music….Ah!

We had a black color phone, a red color that musical machine, couple of diaries and a pen that was never there when we wanted.

No the diary was very important. My grandpa had his own pocket diary, my uncles had a big one (The Med Reps used to give him all kind of medicinal promotional phone diaries etc). I never got to own any because why would a kid need a diary. Whatever numbers you had to dial, you remembered them!

Sometimes, I used the elders’ diaries to make a phone call here and there. Now the weird part was that if lets say the person’s name starts with A, you wont find him in the section that says alphabet A. It would be based on the whims of the person who entered the name. So let say a guy names Alok who is the chairman of a society, his name would be in K. K, not because the name of the society is K, but because this fellow happens to be a Kashmiri!

One of the funniest ones were, an uncle whose name started with S, and had a bit of squint was named under B. Because B stands for Bhainga which means in Hindi a squinted fellow….sad but true :)

Similarly, the milkmans number will not be under his name or M but some other weird place.

Now in the days of mobiles/smartphones, how do you save the numbers? Some people with an OCD save the name meticulously like:

  • Company Name_Name_City
  • Name_Interest
  • Group_Name
  • Name_Relation (Im sure folks from India with big families would need this)
  • Name_Occupation (I do this sometimes, to save the numbers of the various maids I have had)
  • …and so on!

The only good thing about this is that the Search functionality limits the error and most of the times you do get the right number.

But here also some kinda funny things can happen. Now Im sharing this with all good faith and no offense meant to anybody. I respect the guy and his work but Im pathetic with Names. I dont forget faces but I forget names. To save the name of this wonderful person who used to make custom furniture for us, instead of his name and occupation, I saved it as “Furn Surdie”! Why because he is a Sardar…till date I get confused with his name but I ensure every festival I call him and still keep in touch with him. Thank God in India you can getaway from remembering the name. All you have to do is to call the other person “Bhaiya” meaning elder brother….Again sincere apologies but then…I know he wont mind :)

Do share your experience….

About amieatms

I'm a working mom for 2 furry kids of mine- Romeo and Leaia.Everything that I enjoy (cooking, reading, travelling) relates to these two babies and their antics. If I bake a cake then I look out for recipes that they can eat as well...you get the drift! My life revolves around the two men and one girl in my life for now: My husband and My Romeo and Leaia...not necessarily in that order! Theres' some ME time also in between while I'm trying to lose those last extra 5 KGs or read my favourite book.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life, Soul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

